Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Floundering.

Katielu
Katielu Member Posts: 86
Second Anniversary 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments

My 72 year old husband was given a MCI diagnosis inn Jan 2023. He feels it is not correct. I agree but for different reasons. I fee he is further into it than that. He no longer manages our money, has more issues with short term memory ( but sometimes it’s ok) he cannot make decisions quickly.

we are adding a screen room to our condo and every time he sees the quote it is like it is new info, he is wondering how we will pay for it ( we have discussed 8 time now)

last week I was “ taking all his money” and was surprised when I opened the investments to show him there have been No withdrawals made.

i am 12 years younger and still working and not sure how I will manage this. I am a nurse and resourceful, but few like I am drowning in this one.

not sure I am looking for answers, just venting. And all my legal work is in order. I have checked with my attorney.

Comments

• Iris L.
    Iris L. Member Posts: 4,306
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions
    edited June 2023

Welcome Katielu. The other members will have a great deal of good information for you. But I want to alert you to anosognosia, a characteristic of dementia. This means that the PWD (person with dementia) is unaware of having dementia and of being compromised. They may be aware that something is wrong, but they don't understand that they have dementia. Thus they grasp for a reason and usual blame the person around them as causing their new problems. This is not personal and this is not denial. There is no way to change it. What you will have to do is to learn work-arounds which the members will describe. Read the online reading material and many threads to help you get a handle on your new caregiving role. Remember, he can't remember what you tell him.

Iris

• Katielu