Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Preplanned divorce? Thoughts?

Would anyone divorce their spouse before a Alzheimer's diagnosis? I am the person at risk: My father, 6 of his 8 siblings, my half-sister (22 years my senior) all passed away due to Alzheimer's. I am 51 now and am definitely not as sharp as I was with mental math, remembering numbers I've always remembered like CC, license, bank info, or the past in general. Most still say, "You are so smart, purely because I work in tech, but I feel and see the decrease in mental capacity even if they do not."

I have built a nest egg, am 5 years from retirement, currently shopping long term care insurance, but here is the question again, "Would you divorce pre-emptively on good terms?"

My beautiful wife is beautiful and younger 48. Do I set her free and make sure she is taken care of? She is a professional too. Stay friends? Let her find love again before the impending doom? I know there is no guarantee I will get the disease and everyone likes to say, "I'll stay by your side", but I've seen what Alzheimer's does to a person and would rather not hurt my family in the future in that way. It is or can be just awful.

Selfish of me? maybe so? Has anyone done this?

Comments

• Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,406
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited July 2023

Believe it or not, most cases of dementia are not hereditary. I would not divorce her(yet) but I would do the following:

get that long term care insurance

get the legal paperwork in order - durable POA, medical POA, wills, trusts etc.

clearly communicate what your wishes would be for your care, and at what stage, - as in a facility so that she could be your wife and not a 24/7 caregiver. You can always put in writing that you want her to divorce you if you get this diagnosis.