Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Need a TV remote for dementia patients - any experience?

My DH is having great difficulty with the remote and then I have to try to figure out how to get it back to the stations we use. I have been looking online but haven't found what we need.

Anyone have experience with either a simpler remote, voice remote or Alexa for controlling the TV?

I feel so badly for my husband as he gets distraught.

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions
    edited August 2023

Denise, I have no experience with this, but it might help for a while. https://flipperremote.com/

• Denise1847
    Denise1847 Member Posts: 836
    250 Care Reactions 500 Comments 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

Thank you Ed1937.

• harshedbuzz
    harshedbuzz Member Posts: 4,362
    Seventh Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Insightfuls Reactions 500 Likes

I sincerely hope you find something that works for your DH.

The problem is that once a PWD has gotten to a place cognitively that they can't use a familiar electronic device, their memory is too impaired to learn to use even a simple replacement for it. That said, some folks have had success-- for a time-- covering most buttons in black electrical tape so the PWD only has access to power, channel up/down.