Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New here and scared

Ronda 156
Ronda 156 Member Posts: 1
First Anniversary

Hello, I am new to support groups and to being a caregiver. My husband of 38 years started having memory issues in 2019 but we thought it was just stress and aging until last year he also starting having speech issues and even worse memory issues. After several doctor visits and test, we were told he had PPA (primary progressive aphasia) a form of dementia. It was a very scary thing for us. We had watched his mom and sister both suffer with and die from this type of dieses. He was forced to retire 6 months early. Due to the issues he is unable to even work part time. He has now started thinking there are other people in the house when its just us and he is seeing 2 of me, one nice and happy and one mean. We have no family in the are and no kids. I feel so scared and alone. We meet with the neurologist again on Friday. He is only 60 yrs. old.

Comments

• CindyBum
    CindyBum Member Posts: 268
    250 Care Reactions 100 Likes 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited August 2023