Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

What to do?

My wife was diagnosed with early onset 8 years ago. I have been caring for her and have been retired for 4 years. The issues are plenty, but it comes down to what seems to be total dependence on me and doing all she can to alienate my family and friends and to interfere with any hobbies or pastimes I enjoy. She wakes from sleep with a look of total hatred on her face and curses and proclaims she wants no one in her house. She has even gotten out of bed and thrown items to the floor. No one comes to our house any more, so I don't know who she is referring to, but I have reached a point where I can't exist like this and am unsure how to handle her outbursts. I have no life whatsoever now as it is all focused on her and when we try doing something, her confusion and anger disrupts my thinking and turns it into a disorganized fiasco.

Comments

• DISconnected
    DISconnected Member Posts: 4
    First Comment

There are good times, too of course, but as all advice seems to be to go along and apologize for anything they are upset about, there is no way to avoid being totally occupied with dealing with the disease.

• ghphotog
    ghphotog Member Posts: 667
    500 Care Reactions 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited September 2023