Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Crying, sadness, depression

I'm new here DH 83, dementia diagnosed 4 years ago but started well over 8 years ago. I am 15 years younger. He is well aware that his mind is not working right. I am a retired nurse, both my parents had Alz. So lots of experience related to ALZ and family. I believe he is at least stage 6. He is on the highest dose of antidepressant. This is not everyday but becoming much more frequent that he gets up in the morning, not sure of what time of day it is, and sits down for coffee. Then it's like a switch is flipped and he starts crying, it can go on for hours. When I ask whats wrong he says I am going to miss you all, I'm assuming me and his children. I try to engage him in anything that might distract him, doesn't work most the time. Any suggestions on how to get him to move past this? It is totally depressing me and wearing my patience thin. I'm trying my best to keep him at home as long as possible because I don't think he'll do well in a facility. No close family by to lean on here. Thx for any suggestions.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,717
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

welcome to the forum, i also am 15 years younger than my partner. Read about pseudobulbar affect, this may be a neurological problem that he cannot control. There is a medication called Neudexta that might be worth a try.

• Marta
    Marta Member Posts: 694
    Legacy Membership 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

Yes. I second Nuedexta.

• Iris L.
    Iris L. Member Posts: 4,306
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions