Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

DH is in denial

It’s been 3 months since my DH was diagnosed. His disease is getting worse and I’m not sure how to deal with the fact he claims nothing is wrong. Although he mentions how screwed up everything is. In these 3 months he was scammed three times, his PC is now in my possession and I won’t give it back. All of his credit cards were cancelled and reissued but he doesn’t know how to activate. His auto warranty was canceled because the credit card was canceled and he doesn’t know how to solve the problem. State Farm canceled his auto insurance and his BIL has found a high risk company that may take him. (BIL is so co-dependent). My background is Alan-on and I believe in not fixing things unless it will harm him or me. This is new to me. I don’t want WW3 but when and how do I invoke the POA. He self manages his brokerage account. It’s not my money but I have told him he is a danger to himself. He insists nothing is wrong with his brain and his memory is fine. It’s getting crazy and I cry a lot. Can someone share their story of what lead to invoking the POA? Details would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

Comments

• Marta
    Marta Member Posts: 694
    Legacy Membership 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

Please read about anosognosia, a condition which is very common among PWD and other neurological injury. Brain damage prevents your husband from recognizing that he has had a cognitive shift.

Someone will come along and post the link to information on helping someone with anosognosia.

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes