Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

using technology to help with dementia

My mom is 84 and was diagnosed with dementia about 3 years ago. I'm a software engineer by profession and started working on a message board that can be hung on her wall. Essentially it's a 43" HDTV being used as a monitor for a small computer. The computer runs the app I'm working on.

The board is controlled by a companion mobile app---pics below. For my mom, the mobile app only shows the "D-Pad" which basically allows her to navigate through the board with simple, large buttons. If she wants to see the photo gallery, she touches the Gallery button on her phone.

For family and friends, they see the other parts of the mobile app like Planner. So they can add/remove appointments, events, etc. As soon as events are added/removed, the board is updated in real-time.

I've made two games for it:

*) Facer -- family or friend uploads a face pic, tags a name to the person, and it shows the face pic, the real name and 2 additional random names. My mom has to select the right name and she'll get a point.

*) Renumber -- a number is shown on the screen for a couple seconds and then obfuscated. She has to enter the number she saw using the mobile app. It starts with a single digit and will grow a digit at a time as long as she gets it right.

It even has a screensaver that types out a few paragraphs that tells her about herself...."My name is Jane Doe. I was born in XXXX. I have two sisters and three brothers. etc"

I've tried to make the whole thing is easy to use as possible. Even to get the mobile app, all people have to do is aim their phone's camera at a QR code. I did all that work over the course of a year and then it finally hit me that I'm probably wasting my time.