Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Do you need lawyer??

To change or get a POA in NJ do you need a lawyer ???

Comments

• Crushed
    Crushed Member Posts: 1,442
    Tenth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions

I am a lawyer

I pay lawyers for legal services all the time

• charley0419
    charley0419 Member Posts: 354
    100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

So that’s a yes

• loveskitties
    loveskitties Member Posts: 1,073
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

Having the advice of legal counsel is always best.

For instance, they can explain why you should probably have a Durable Power of Attorney rather than just a simple Power of Attorney.

They can also explain estate planning, how to safe guard assets, what it will take to get Medicaid assistance for loved one, and so many more things.

In the long run, the savings outweigh the initial costs of getting best advice.

You will also want to pick a lawyer who "specializes" in these things versus one who generalizes.

• jfkoc
    jfkoc Member Posts: 3,762
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

There is much that you can do "online" but I would advise against it.

Your best bet is to hire an attorney who's practice is elder law. Just like Drs, law has specialties. You do not go to a podiatrist for a heart problem.

• JJ401
    JJ401 Member Posts: 312
    Sixth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Care Reactions

A POA is relatively inexpensive at a lawyer. Here it runs about $100.

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,716
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions