Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Trying to articulate an emotinonal experience I had

ghphotog
ghphotog Member Posts: 667
500 Care Reactions 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Insightfuls Reactions

I'm a photographer, mostly real estate the last 10 years. Anyway I was shooting a property in Santa Fe while my DW was in daycare, I'm still fairly young and could have a few more good photography years left.

As I was wrapping up this particular job and putting my equipment away, there was an apartment complex down the street to my right. It was partly in shadow. I imagined living there by myself after this is all said and done and then an overwhelming sadness and loneliness hit my soul, similar to stepping outside from and air conditioned house and straight into an oven. The heat hits you immediately. The feeling almost overwhelmed me.

The thought of living someplace like that without friends, without family, knowing no one, I felt truly alone. It made me very grateful for my friends and what family I have left. I felt for those that are in that situation, no friends, no family. . . just alone in the world.

If I'm still standing when this is over my idea has always been to move somewhere I've never been and start life over but then I will be that lonely person in a strange place. I have no children of my own and I'm sure my step kids are going to want to take care of their 'ol step dad. However, I have great friends and that gives me hope.

I wanted to try and articulate that into words.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,716
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited November 2023