Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Help with ideas- dealing with my dad who has dementia

Good evening,
I am new to this ALZ group and I need some advise. My dad who is a young 79 year old and has frontal dementia. I am his only care giver and I am struggling on how to stay strong and positive with this disease. I need to know that fibbing is ok and saying " ok" , "sure " with all of his questions. I am not ready for all this responsiblily. I am a single mom of 2 teen kids, 45 myself, working full time . I know its not gonna be easy but am i alone in this? How did you all feel at the begining

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,716
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Welcome to the forum, that is a lot to have on your plate.

I will be blunt and say that your needs and your children's needs must have priority. I would have a low threshold to place your dad in memory care if he is not already so that you can focus on your own life and work and your kids. You will need power of attorney for your dad, if you don't already have this a certified elder law attorney can assist and can help with financial planning also. I'm sorry you are facing this, this forum is a good place for support. Read a lot of threads and you will learn a lot. You are not alone.

• Jeanne C.
    Jeanne C. Member Posts: 805
    500 Comments 250 Care Reactions 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

Hi and welcome. I completely agree with M1 that you and your kids need to be your priority. And, yes, the legal stuff is top of the list. I would also add that learning more about dementia will help (everyone will recommend the 36 Hour Day - it really is useful).