Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Grief

I have been caring for my DH w vascular dementia for 8 years. He had an especially bad delusional, paranoid & aggressive episode and I had to call 911. He was placed in the geriatric unit of the hospital and today I was told the psychiatrist recommends memory care. How do you overcome the grief hearing he’s not coming home? I really thought I could love him through it all.

Comments

• Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,404
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions

You can continue to love him even though you won’t be his 24:7 caregiver. You can continue to advocate on his behalf. You will be plenty involved - whike being able to sleep at night and get your daily chores and errands done.

• Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

Bsjames, Welcome but sorry you need to seek out our community. Please don’t think of placement as a failure or letting your spouse down. I placed my wife 2 years ago after being a full time 24/7 caregiver for over 4 years. I know that I was a very good & dedicated caregiver when she was home but I also know she is receiving better care and is much happier in memory care. I was told by others that once I placed her I could stop being her caregiver and go back to being her husband, I didn’t understand this but it is actually true.

• harshedbuzz
    harshedbuzz Member Posts: 4,359
    Seventh Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Insightfuls Reactions 500 Likes

@bsjames

You are loving him through it, a beautiful way to express caregiving, with your decision to get him the care he needs in the moment. Putting his needs first is love.