Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

How-To Manage Late Stage Patients at Home ?

shark_guy
shark_guy Member Posts: 9
5 Care Reactions 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Likes First Comment

As a software engineer, I am a detailed planner and seem always to be a bit ahead of myself in thinking through situations and scenarios. In the case of caregiving for DW, I am trying to make a plan for how best to care for her at home vs putting her in memory care. I also cannot get a good grasp on what stage she is in because since she is virtually blind, all the associated stage symptoms show up earlier or in a different place than for sighted persons. For. Example, does she no longer recognize someone or something or can she really just not see them well? Aarrgghh! So, I really can’t tell what stage she is in, probably need to bring this up at her next neurologist appointment

Thinking thru the later incontinence issues that I am told will arise, how as a caregiver is the best way to deal with that. Our bedroom is large so I am thinking that having a separate adjustable hospital-style bed for her might be best and maybe protecting the flooring with a plastic cover and situating the bed close to the bathroom entryway. Any thoughts on or experiences with this and for caring for DW’s daily hygiene would be helpful. Message me if you don’t want to discuss this publicly but I think this is an issue that many caregivers will be faced with

Planning for Stage Uugghh…

Comments

• charley0419
    charley0419 Member Posts: 354
    100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

I’d love to see response for this as one of my biggest concerns

• ButterflyWings
    ButterflyWings Member Posts: 1,752
    500 Likes Fifth Anniversary 1000 Comments 250 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited January 1