Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

My husband cannot sit still

My husband was diagnosed with Alzheimer's a year ago. He is constantly "rearranging" kitchen cabinets, garage shelves, etc. It seems like he cannot sit still and tends to overdo it every day. Suggestions?

Comments

• charley0419
    charley0419 Member Posts: 354
    100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

I’m pretty new at this but my wife had business for years and I took home left over stock( costume jewelry) it’s in 10 bins she checks them constantly, I say let them do not hurting anyone and keeps them happy

• Grannie B
    Grannie B Member Posts: 3
    First Comment

unfortunately, he moves everything to where I can't find it. Found the peanut butter in the garage...

• Judy.T.
    Judy.T. Member Posts: 44
    25 Likes 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

My husband is "rearranging" too. He can't sit, or do anything productive. I have learnt to let it go! If he chooses to rearrange his draws all day at least he is doing something. I have tried to redirect him to do a puzzle, play a game, dance in the kitchen, ect... to no avail. I find that only frustrates me more, so I just let him go.

• CindyBum
    CindyBum Member Posts: 268
    250 Care Reactions 100 Likes 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

Would putting a couple of children locks on a couple of the cupboards and let him rearrange the others maybe work?

• Grannie B
    Grannie B Member Posts: 3
    First Comment

He is still too aware of what's going on to put locks on the cupboards and would get angry

• CindyBum
    CindyBum Member Posts: 268
    250 Care Reactions 100 Likes 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

Well, shoot.

• darcytg
    darcytg Member Posts: 94
    25 Likes 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

Hello GrannieB,