Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Is it too soon for MC

I'm in over my head. My husband has beginnings of alzheimers, not sure what stage... no one has told me. But since his diagnosis he's had a seizure and mini stroke and his physical health has deteriorated drastically. I have to answer the same question multiple times each day, he mostly only sleeps but when he isn't sleeping he is always asking about food. The other day he fell when he went to sit on the bed, it took me 20 minutes trying to get him off of the floor. In the last 2 weeks he has fallen out of the bed twice. He makes a mess when he goes #2 in the bathroom. I don't know when I should consider putting him in MC, but I'm also financially unsure about that as well. The local council on aging is trying to get us assistance through the state but it is taking forever. This is my first time to this group, I have so many thoughts, questions, concerns and get mad at myself for some of my thoughts. Was going to go to my first support group today but it was canceled.

Comments

• charley0419
    charley0419 Member Posts: 354
    100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

Take it slow! Get you POA and see an elder care professional

• darcytg
    darcytg Member Posts: 94
    25 Likes 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

Welcome to this space. Glad you found it ... the people here understand and care.

I think you've answered your own question. If you're feeling over your head and not happy with some of your thoughts, it sounds like something different will benefit both of you.

Only you know what's right for yourself and your DH....even then, not much about this ever feels truly right, from my point of view.

Caregiving (only a very short time for me) and this disease are some of the most emotionally difficult things I've ever experienced.