Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Confirmed diagnosis

Rach75
Rach75 Member Posts: 1 Member
My mother has an official diagnosis of dementia, what kind I do not know yet .. the doctor seemed to have the information in the chart but this was my first time attending my mother’s doctor appointment. over the past year has depended a lot on my father for answers , to include her birthday at times but didn’t really notice her disorientation until she came out of surgery. My family and I are new to all of this and have requested a case manager to support us and my mother in learning more about her diagnosis. I am a licensed therapist who is also seeking out my own self care through all of this and anticipating the changes my mom and family will be going through. I find myself missing her and all the memories of my childhood… I have to remind myself to embrace what I do have with her now . She remembers me now and I can tell when she has had a good day… I want to be in the moment but fear for what may be coming is hard to understand

Comments

• SSHarkey
    SSHarkey Member Posts: 298
    Sixth Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes 100 Comments