Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Comments on Medicare Proposals on Improved Hospital Care for Dementia Patients

Michael Ellenbogen wants to encourage anyone interested to make comments on this measure. I am going to include Michael's comments:

Please get people to make comments on this site ASAP. Very important.

You must submit your comments by June 10 on the Regulations.gov site.

Pls see the proposed CMS Measure link added here.  There is time for public comment until June 10 on the age-friendly measures. Will go a long way to an eventual requirement and The Joint Commission then would have to address.

https://www.johnahartford.org/dissemination-center/view/2025-cms-proposed-age-friendly-hospital-measure

This is something I have been working on for 10 years now. Not sure if I could add my make recommendations to the existing recommendation of CMS-1808-P or do they need to add an addendum for our part I have been working for if we were to succeed.

Thes are my comments below that I will add.

While much of this is over my head I did read the CMS-1808-P. So, I went by the short version and hope I did not misunderstand. I have learned that there are many ways to fix a problem. Sadly, if not fixed effectively it just creates other or new issues.  If this was the 1970’s I would have said this is good. But this is 2024 and just in the last 5 years we have learned so much when it comes to Neurological disease (ND). There are also many people without diagnosed ND that experience cognitive dysfunction from stress, drug interactions, delirium, etc. that could be cured and they don’t even know it. The medical treatment these people experience is impacted by their diminished ability to understand and engage fully with a treatment regimen or provide a reliable medical history. This also dramatically affects their treatment within the hospital system.