Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Seizures

Crkddy
Crkddy Member Posts: 84
Fourth Anniversary 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions

DW with late stage early on-set had a seizure at home last Friday. Called 911 and EMTs transported her to local hospital, where she had another seizure in the ER. She was admitted and stayed in the hospital for 5 days. The first two days she did not wake up. They did a number of diagnostic tests but didn't determine a specific cause. They did find that she had a severe UTI. I've got her back home now and she is functioning about the same (if not better) as she was before the seizures. The doctors put her on Keppra in effort to prevent further seizures.

As anyone else experienced this with their loved ones?

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,711
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

I have no personal experience but i know others have posted about this before. Seizures are a relatively rare complication of dementia but not unheard of. I hope she does well on the Keppra, i think it's a drug that is pretty well tolerated. Do keep us posted please.

• Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,401
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions

Keppra worked well for our son who had epilepsy - but please make sure she takes it on schedule. Sudden stopping of it can result in a seizure. It can also cause anger issues. So watch for that.

• Jeanne C.
    Jeanne C. Member Posts: 803
    500 Comments 250 Care Reactions 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

My husband had a seizure a few weeks ago and hospice started him on keppra. So far no additional seizures. All the best to you. I know how scary it must have been.

• Crkddy
    Crkddy Member Posts: 84
    Fourth Anniversary 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions