Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Seeing the worst in me

bewagner
bewagner Member Posts: 1 Member
I’m new to ALZConnect. but have cared for my wife over the last five years as she has suffered with mild cognitive impairment. The formal Alzheimer’s diagnosis came 12/ 2024 and she is declining more rapidly.

My DW has always been controlling, and recently started accusing me of steamrolling decisions without her consent. In fact, we typically have many discussions. I get that she just doesn’t remember them but just don’t know how to diffuse her anger or accusations that I exploit her Alzheimer’s to make unilateral decisions.

Any best ways to handle this?

Comments

• Crkddy
    Crkddy Member Posts: 84
    Fourth Anniversary 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions

ButterflyWings is so right. I am so sorry you are in this situation. I had to learn it too - you cannot have discussions nor reason with DW about what needs to happen. Just use your best judgment and carry on. Try not to create tension and agitation unnecessarily, as you cannot win an argument with dementia.

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,710
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions