Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Emotions all over the map

I am new to this. DH has EO. We are in the 6th since diagnosis.In the last year he has really declined I am helping him with everything feeding,dressing, it is so difficult watching your spouse of 47 years wither to nothing. I feel like I have been in mourning since day of diagnosis. I feel so alone. I now will have a carer that comes to do baths and hygiene care. This was my time of frustration because DH wouldn’t participate and deep down I wanted him to just be stubborn but I know he couldn’t understand. I cry a lot and at times just say I can’t do this anymore. But I know I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. I love him so much

Comments

• White Crane
    White Crane Member Posts: 848
    Seventh Anniversary 250 Care Reactions 500 Comments 100 Likes

Hello LetstalkAlz and welcome to the forum that nobody wants to be on. Everyone here understands what you are going through and will try our best to help you and reassure you. Post often and ask lots of questions. You said you are in your 6th year since diagnosis. Have you gotten your financial affairs in order and durable power of attorney for healthcare and finances? If not, please contact an elderlaw attorney soon as this is vitally important. I'm glad you are having an aide come in to help with hygiene and bathing. Try to relax during those times and let the aide handle things. You said you feel like you have been in mourning since he diagnosis. This is called ambiguous grief. That's a big word that means we are grieving the loss of our loved one and the life we had together while they are still with us. It's hard. We all cry. I wish it were different. You sound like a wonderful and loving wife and caregiver. Sending hugs.

Brenda

• SDianeL
    SDianeL Member Posts: 878
    500 Care Reactions 250 Likes 500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions