Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Newbie here

Hello everyone

I have recently been diagnosed with Vascular Dementia, I am 55 a bit young for this disease I’ve been told. 

For the last few years myself, family, friends, physical therapists have all thought I had MS. Finally got to UCSF and was totally expecting and prepared for the MS diagnoses but instead was told VD.  I am currently waiting for a call from UCSF memory and aging, my Dr is hoping to get me into some clinical studies I think. 

My diagnosis appointment went way too quickly and I was not able to ask many questions so here I am, looking for answers and suggestions

I am just totally blown away and pretty scared with this diagnosis. Is there anybody on here that also has vascular dementia? 

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. 

Comments

• Iris L.
    Iris L. Member Posts: 4,306
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

Welcome, Sunshine.  I hope you will find some answers here.  It can be challenging to make a diagnosis of any of the dementias, because there is much overlap with other disease pathologies.  Multiple sclerosis can cause a cognitive impairment.  Were you diagnosed with neurocognitive testing?

I have had a diagnosis of cognitive impairment not otherwise specified for many years.  There may be some vascular involvement.  I also have a  diagnosis of systemic lupus, also sleep apnea. 

If you have cardiovascular disease, do all you can to treat it.  Watch your blood pressure.  Check any medications you take now for memory and cognitive side effects.

Have you had to stop working? You may be eligible for SS Disability benefits.

Please write back with more questions.  Read alz.org, there is good information there.

Iris

• TommyT
    TommyT Member Posts: 24
    Legacy Membership 10 Comments