Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Frustration and denial

Hi, I’m new to this group and I was wondering how do other people cope with the frustration and denial that arises from oneself by living with a spouse with mild cognitive impairment. Communication has progressively declined. It’s like we speak 2 different languages and this sparks confrontations. He is in denial of his memory decline and I am in denial as well.
I feel as if my floor has been taken from my feet when I realize and know what is coming. I know it well because I’m a nurse and have cared for dementia patients for a long time. You would say well.. she knows how to deal with this, but no, it’s a total different ball game.

Comments

• Marta
    Marta Member Posts: 694
    Legacy Membership 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions
    edited November 2023

Jo: your husband likely has anosognosia, which is the inability to recognize one’s deficits, and is due to brain damage from the pathological process responsible for the dementia. You likely have cared for a stroke patient with damage to the right hemisphere (usually) who subsequently neglects their left side - this, too, is a form of anosognosia.

no amount of convincing or presenting ‘evidence’ can persuade the person with anosognosia that they have impairment- they think they are fine and will strenuously object to these efforts; typically they refuse any kind of help.

If you go to dailycaring.com and put anosognosia in the search function, you’ll learn ways to deal with this exasperating problem.

ps. I’m a nurse also, and did not know about anosognosia when I started the journey with my husband; I did know about left neglect.

• bubblegummom63
    bubblegummom63 Member Posts: 1
    First Comment

Hi!