Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Medicaid divorce

easy23
easy23 Member Posts: 200
Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes

Someone suggested that I get a medicaid divorce to protect my assets and qualify my DH for medicaid. Has anyone ever done this or is it an obsolete idea?

Comments

• the bff
    the bff Member Posts: 11
    10 Comments 5 Likes

easy23, please don't listen to "someone." A major federal law in 1988 got rid of the need for a "medicaid divorce," allowing the community spouse to retain a lot of assets so as to not impoverish said spouse. Each state has its own tweaked version, so please consult a qualified elder law attorney who can direct you further. Do not wait, knowledge is power, and there may be many options open to you if you start soon. (I am a retired attorney who did Medicaid planning work. The one thing that drove me nuts was people waiting too long to seek my counsel, often where I couldn't help much.)

• gampiano
    gampiano Member Posts: 329
    Third Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes 100 Comments

Wow, this is what my mom was advised to do back in 1973, when my dad was in year 10 of Parkinson's disease. She didn't go through with it, but one of our friends did, and her ex husband was able to go on Medicaid. I think there are other ways to achieve the same end, (GOING TO A CELA) but it's amazing how out medical "system" hasn't changed in 50 years . Divorce may yield a faster result.

By the way, because my mom was unable to pay for nursing home, and refused to quit her job as a nurse and go on welfare so that they could get Medicaid coverage, she ended up being sued by the state in family court for non support of her spouse. The judge threw the case out, and told my mom to go back to work. Miraculously my dad began receiving Medicaid. This wouldn't happen today for sure.

• the bff
    the bff Member Posts: 11
    10 Comments 5 Likes