Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Respite recommended

Whyzit2
Whyzit2 Member Posts: 55
25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes 10 Comments

At my last Dr visit she recommended that I utilize respite care for my DH because she thought after all these years (14) I deserved a break. I called the facility DH attends day care at two days a week. The director answered my many questions and when I asked the cost I discovered how valuable my caregiving time is. The facility requires 30 days of care at $325 per day…,,that equates to $9,750 a month….or $118,625 per year. Wow, I am valuable. I certainly didn’t earn that much when I was a teacher.
I thanked the director for the information and assured her that she helped me greatly in my planning. I’m thinking maybe DH and I should go on a Disney cruise and I’ll sign him up for all the kids activities. LOL Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!!!!!!!😂

Comments

• Jazzma
    Jazzma Member Posts: 105
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Likes

I found some local memory care facilities offer respite care on a day-to-day basis at a much more reasonable cost. I hope you can find something that works for you. Caregiving is priceless.

• Marta
    Marta Member Posts: 694
    Legacy Membership 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

After 14 years, is your husband close to needing hospice? Medicare pays for respite care when on hospice.

• SeattleChrista
    SeattleChrista Member Posts: 5
    First Comment