Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New to forum and newly diagnosed spouse at 56

Hi all.

I'm not good at sharing, but finding this new life journey difficult. Not sure I should have pushed for this test as I wasn't really ready for the truth and outcome. My kids and I noticed the changes in my spouse over 7 years ago. I tried back then for doctors to figure out what was happening. Hit road block after road block with a comment of you're being overbearing and this is just normal aging. Yet when the doctor finally gave in, all tests came back positive for Alzheimer's. Now I realize we are still relatively early with this diagnosis st 56, but I feel we could have been even earlier if the doctor had listened to my concerns 7 years ago.

Doctors have said this is an inherited version and no amount of perfect eating and exercising would have prevented this. 😞

Nevertheless, we are now on this journey and I'm feeling lost, depressed and alone. I'm doing all the navigating of the medical system. I already have taken over making sure my spouse takes the meds morning and night. As well as make sure I schedule all personal things on several calendars so my spouse has this information to remind them.

Sorry, just having a day of feeling lost and very alone in this. Can only talk to the kids so much before they get depressed and I don't want to burden them any more than they are. So, here I am on a forum spilling to you all. Another new experience.….

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,710
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Welcome to the forum, though i am so sorry you are facing this at such a young age. You are not alone, and you have come to a good place for advice and support.