Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Progression or something else

My DH, 72yo, was diagnosed with moderate dementia this year but has been having memory and word finding problems for years. He started on oral Aricept and did not tolerate so started the exelon patch. About a month ago, he started talking about people being in the house. He was at home alone while I worked at that time. We took a vacation and during that time he was surprised to learn we were married. We have been for 31 years. Anyway, it was a pretty sudden progression. I had a urine done and need to repeat it since it was contaminated. I asked about stopping the patch since he'd been on it about 5-6 weeks, NP wasn't really in favor. I stopped it yesterday and will get a urine again next week. He saw a primary care nurse last week, had neuropsych testing last week as part of his overall geriatric assessment last week also. I am a masters prepared nurse so have some knowledge. I understand that travel and illness affect dementia but this started before that. Thoughts?

Comments

• SDianeL
    SDianeL Member Posts: 878
    500 Care Reactions 250 Likes 500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions

it sounds like he has progressed to having Stage 5-6 behaviors. My DH started having hallucinations in those stages. If you rule out medical issues like UTI, look up the document that lists the behaviors in each stage so you can see where he is. Doctors are reluctant to give stages since there can be overlapping behaviors. If you haven’t done so, I would read the book “The 36 Hour Day” which was recommended by a nurse and really helped me.

• cdgbdr
    cdgbdr Member Posts: 27
    10 Comments 5 Care Reactions

Thank you for your reply. I'm working through these things and appreciate support.

• cdgbdr