Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Anger and Dementia

sharon22992
sharon22992 Member Posts: 1 Member
This is my first time posting to this forum. I'm concerned about my 89 year old father's increased agitation, irritation, frustration, and absolute anger. How can I distinguish between what is "normal" for his age and what might be the beginning of some type of dementia. He's always been irritable and easily agitated. But now, there are times when he really is in a rage and when it's over, he has no memory of it. The worst was when he was yelling that he was going to burn down the house we live in.

I'm just looking for stories about the kind of anger or agitation that made others concerned! Actually, I don't even know what I'm looking for! But I'm looking for something...Thank you!
Tagged:

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,701
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Hi Sharon. You are right to be concerned. Do you have power of attorney for him by any chance, and/or HIPPA privileges for communication with his doc? I would start there, and call or write his doc to tell them of your concerns (most times with dementia, the family complains long before the affected person does). If you don't have HIPPA privileges, you can still talk to them, although they may not be able to answer back (because of privacy concerns), but they can still act on the information you are providing.

• towhee
    towhee Member Posts: 471
    Sixth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Likes 5 Care Reactions

Welcome Sharon. Please do contact his doctor, it is not just dementia that can cause these problems.

• MN Chickadee
    MN Chickadee Member Posts: 871
    Tenth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions