Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Taking this all in

korbkelly
korbkelly Member Posts: 10
First Comment
:(

My mom, 71 years old, got the diagnosis not too long ago. My dad, same age, told me yesterday. My parents live in Ohio, I live in Massachusetts.
Her mother died at 75 from the disease, well, from a heart attack. But she had Alzheimer's for about 10 years. I don't have many memories of my grandmother, as I was very young.

We all knew this was coming eventually, but my mom's decline started so rapidly. My sister noticed changes around Mother's day, and here we are. I'm still trying to grapple with all of this. I'm a nurse by trade, I've cared for folks with Alzheimer's/dementia, but man...this is so much different when it's your own family.
I'm just worried about my dad. They've been married for 42 years this December. He's taking this really hard. We both said yesterday we just wish we had more time to prepare for this. Trying to take things one day at a time.

Comments

• eaglemom
    eaglemom Member Posts: 519
    Legacy Membership 500 Comments 100 Likes 25 Insightfuls Reactions

I'm so sorry your here, and having to deal with long distance care giving. We are here to help you along the journey that no one want to take.

This is fresh news, you are in shock. It takes a while to absorb it - for it to become your 'regular' life. Don't worry about it. At this point just take a day at a time. Of course you want to support your dad, I don't blame you. But, he might not be ready for support yet. Since he just told you, he too is digesting what this diagnosis means in his life. I would encourage him to have coffee with his buddies, golf, whatever - don't just be home. And also make certain all of the financial accounts, etc are in order. For now that is enough. Any more and he'll be overwhelmed and do nothing.