Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New to this group and to ALZ

I'm new to this group, and DH was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's. He is 61, and his father was diagnosed with dementia, as well. I can see, now, that he has actually been struggling with symptoms for about 2 years, but I had hoped that they were simply post-surgical cognitive issues. Today, he was told by the occupational therapist that he should not drive anymore. We are buying a house that is about 3 minutes or so from where I work (I'm a teacher), and his brothers are committed to helping me out as they are able to.

I'm still in shock mode, TBH, so I haven't really had time to breathe or grieve. I'd appreciate any encouragement as I pour over this website. Thank you in advance, and I am truly grateful this is here.
Tagged:

Comments

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

Mrsjlolo welcome to the forum and as we say I am sorry for the reason you had to find us. You are in the right place. First I want to say you've still got lots of good times still. It maybe a struggle sometimes to believe that but learning to use what your dh has and not focus on what he can't do makes things a lot different. It's good the therapist did the right thing and let that fall on his shoulders if it comes up that takes some of the burden off you. No it won't make the loss any better but so many folks on here couldn't get the professional people to make that call. It's funny because when it involves seizures that's an automatic suspension of license.

Let me say read as much as you can handle, ask any question, we all learn together.

Stewart

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions