Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Third person

Hello, I am brand new to this and am overwhelmed. My DH was diagnosed with moderate stage dementia in April and last night had another episode of thinking he was not at home. He was trying to leave at 2:00am. This morning he started speaking to me in the third person. I am afraid to sleep because he may wander. Any suggestions?

Tagged:

Comments

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

If your not considering placing. Door locks up high work. I went thru that. Always wondering if she was gonna get up in the middle of the night. What about you? You need sleep as well. I have heard of others sleeping when the lo slept.

• charley0419
    charley0419 Member Posts: 354
    100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions

This illness has no routine, my DW diagnosis 1yr as go mild Alzheimer’s and only asking same questions and gets confused but nothing like yours yet.

they have mates on line that you put by bed and sends Alarm to phone I think

• Jeanne C.
    Jeanne C. Member Posts: 805
    500 Comments 250 Care Reactions 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

Sorry, this is happening. You must be exhausted.

Make sure you share the new behaviors with her doctor as meds may help. Also check for a UTI as new or extreme behaviors can be a symptom.

• Pat6177
    Pat6177 Member Posts: 442
    100 Likes Third Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions