Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Just joined and new here

Hello...my name is Carolyn, and I have been contemplating joining this forum for a few months now, but have been too numb and grief-stricken to do so. But I thought I would give it a try.

My husband (2nd marriage for both of us...he has two grown daughters, and I have no children) was diagnosed with FTD yesterday. He was originally diagnosed with AZ, but that has been updated. AZ was bad enough, but FTD is terrifying. I wasn't able to find an on-line FTD forum, so I thought this would be a good place since caregivers, regardless of the type of dementia, experience many of the same struggles and emotions.

As is the case for most of we spouses, we saw the signs, had our suspicions, witnessed the decline, asked our spouse to be evaluated...long before an official diagnosis. I've been living with this for at least 5 years, but the first few years the symptoms were vague, and I could rationalize and excuse them away. I just didn't want it to be. Neither did he. So now, he is significantly worse, but still considered in the early stage. I know there is a lot of decline and anguish to come for both of us. I seem to be stuck in this grief limbo and can't get out from under it. I don't want to take anti-depressants, and counseling, while available, is booked out through mid-summer. My question here is: are there resources for the intense and overwhelming sadness and grief?

Comments

• Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes