Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Auditory hallucinations

rneri9
rneri9 Member Posts: 1 New
My mom was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s over 2 months ago , she is 74, I honestly think she had it for a couple of years now she used to see things she said when she was waking up now she hears people talking to her but she don’t see them, the neurologist said that’s a mental health issue, I told him my mother never had any mental health problems all her life why would she start now , he is not putting it with the Alzheimer’s but everything I read up on Alzheimer’s or dementia it has audio hallucinations, am I missing something with this dr? Or should I get a new dr? I’m new to all this so idk what to do .

Comments

• terei
    terei Member Posts: 566
    Seventh Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions 100 Likes

You need a new doctor. I would suggest trying to find a geriatric psychiatrist to assess + recommend appropriate meds. Hallucinations, audio + visual are not uncommon with dementia AT ALL. I’m sure there are many on the board that can talk about this from first hand experience

• stretchedthin
    stretchedthin Member Posts: 1
    First Comment