Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

55-year-old DH—early-onset Alzheimer’s

Hello! 

I’m new to this space. Haven’t found the courage to think deeply about ALL of this until now. My husband is 55 and was recently diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. He’s still working (but I’m nervous that his employment may not last, based on his day-to-day functioning). 

We have three kids ages 21, 18, and 11. 

When I let the reality of our situation sink in, I'm absolutely overwhelmed and I wind up in heaving sobs. Since my life is bananas and I have three kids to reassure and care for, a full-time job, an aging father, AND a husband who gets lost on simple errands, I cannot allow myself to break down in sobs or face the enormity of this shitshow very often. I generally compartmentalize and try to focus JUST on what is right in front of my face. 

There’s so much to think about/plan for and I do not know where to begin. I am sort of glad to read these posts and realize I’m not alone…but also, that makes me feel sick. 

This is the worst thing I can imagine for so many reasons. 

I’m happy to have a community of wiser people to turn to. 

Wizmo (from this forum) already reached out and advised me to find a disability lawyer, to protect us from potentially losing benefits in case my husband is terminated from his job (he works for a large university in our city.)

I contacted the Alzheimer’s Association today and my husband and I have agreed to tackle visits to lawyers and difficult conversations this week.

The fact that we’re in our 50s, with young-adult children and one young child AND with aging parents as well makes our situation, particularly complex and terrifying!

Is there anybody out there with circumstances like mine? I’m wondering how I will manage being a caregiver to my husband while also creating a healthy home for my youngest child who starts middle school next fall??!