Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New and Grieving with Questions

Thanks for adding me to the group. I am new to this beast. My DH was diagnosed July 17 (Monday) with Alzheimer’s and I am grieving. I don’t even know what to do and it’s hard to even breathe. I just cry. I’ve being seeing his decline for a couple years and when we had a defining moment, it took six months to get the appointment. I try to be patient, I try to be kind, I try to get him out of the house often and socialize with his friends. Here are my questions;

I love my part-time work from home, it brings in good money. I don’t want to regret working, but he is literally in the next room. Can anyone give me some thoughts about this?

His Mother died about 5 years ago from this beast. When do I tell his family?
Thanks in advance for helping

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

Welcome, and I'm sorry you two are dealing with this now. Your emotions are normal. Just about all of us went through that.

We have people who are working from home, and they will reply too. I'll leave this part all up to them.

There will be a lot of choices for you to make, and one size does not fit all. In my opinion, it is better to get the word out sooner rather than later, at least to those close to you two. I called a family meeting right after my wife was diagnosed, and I didn't pull any punches when I told them what it meant. I'm glad I did that, and when I asked them what they thought of it, every one of them told me they were glad I told them.

You never know how people will react. Some families kind of fall apart when they find out, while others pull together. Close friends might become more scarce for visiting because they just don't know how to act. This is especially true when it becomes easily apparent that there is a problem.