Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Lonely but longing to be alone…

AnnieTB
AnnieTB Member Posts: 13
Sixth Anniversary 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

Hello- New to posting, though I have looked in on others for several years. My DH (age 70) has Alzheimer’s and Vascular Dementia, heading into moderate stage although not yet problems with ADLs. We have known this was coming (through testing) for around 10 years. Slow progression, so I feel fortunate for that. SO many of you are in such worse predicaments. For me, our marriage was not the best prior to diagnoses, but now I’m in it for the long haul. I feel that I am young (66) and being a retired social worker, I access local supports and resources and have good friends. Just the day to day is so lonely, as he has less and less interest in anything he/we once did, even in conversation, and he’s so dependent, that it feels more like parenting. I dream about the retirement I imagined; travel and independence, which can’t happen now. I envy my single friends, as I would love to be unencumbured. Intellectually, I know it’s not his fault, and I have dropped the resentment I felt in the beginning. I just don’t know where to dive in on existing posts, as I’m not really seeking advice, just folks who are experiencing this feeling. It’s lonely to be in a house with someone who is slipping away…. The ambiguous grief of losing him while still being so needed is painful.

Comments

• Dio
    Dio Member Posts: 681
    500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes Second Anniversary

I am so with you. All of what you described is everything I've gone through and going through…and then some! Hang in there. It supposedly gets better.

• Denise1847
    Denise1847 Member Posts: 835
    250 Care Reactions 500 Comments 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

Hi Annie,