Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Tone Deaf Invitation

Buggytoo
Buggytoo Member Posts: 72
25 Likes 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

A couple with whom DH and I have been close friends for 40 plus years just invited ME to a small dinner party celebrating the wife's 80th birthday. The invitation spelled out that I should get one of my children to watch my DH and just come by myself. I am miffed and maybe even insulted by this request. Has this happened to any of you? Is there another way for me to look at this to lessen my sense of my husband being dismissed/discarded by this invite?

Comments

• Caro_Lynne
    Caro_Lynne Member Posts: 342
    100 Likes 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions First Anniversary

I'm not social so I would not go. That's just me though🤨

• Buggytoo

I do wonder if I could even enjoy myself at this gathering at this point. I'm not very good at faking it. I am so sorry about the isolation that accompanies this disease and grows more intense with each stage. And I totally understand the no energy to do anything about it. The effort to do something about it seems insurmountable.

• ronda b
    ronda b Member Posts: 73
    25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Likes

I agree with a couple of the post. They probably think you need a break. If he was with you ,you would be watching him all night and not relaxing and enjoying your self.

• ButterflyWings
    ButterflyWings Member Posts: 1,752
    500 Likes Fifth Anniversary 1000 Comments 250 Insightfuls Reactions
    edited May 25

I can hear your hurt but hope it will subside. I agree the easiest thing would have been for them to just "forget" to invite either of you. That would truly be othering or detaching from you all and dementia. I actually see this a little differently, in that it is really considerate of your DH and his condition in a way. Knowing the behavior may be embarrassing and disruptive,