Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

How to cope with loss of grandmother.

My 93 yr old grandmother passed away on 6/10/23. She lived with us for around 7yrs and was in hospice care for 6 months before she was moved into a facility right after Easter. Her dementia had gotten worse and she needed 24hr care, which we couldnt provide any longer. I know what we had to do what was in her best interest and ours, but I still feel somewhat guilty putting her in there. It just seems like once she knew she was staying there, she just gave up. She was doing rather well up until after Mothers Day. Her health went into sudden decline and she was unable to eat, drink, swallow and was bed ridden, even at 32, Im having a hard time handling my grief. She lived a wonderful life and battled through a multitude of health problems and bounced back every time but in the end, dementia won and took her from us. This is my first time dealing with something like this and Im just so angry that such a disease could just wipe the mind of a beautiful soul away and take her away from us so quickly. Some days it just doesnt feel real, eventhough I know it is....Im just looking for some guidance on how to handle such a heart breaking loss and how dementia just eats away the minds of these beautiful souls. Any advice, help, guidance is appreciated. TYIA.

Comments

• mommyandme (m&m)
    mommyandme (m&m) Member Posts: 1,468
    1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes
    edited June 2023