Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Mother with early-onset dementia - advice?

SAL
SAL Member Posts: 1 Member
This is my first time posting here, and I'm looking for some advice. My 70-year-old mother has early-onset dementia. She is extremely independent - she lives alone in an apartment, still works outside of the house, spends much of her time alone. She has had symptoms of memory loss, speech disturbance, and TIA. She's had a couple episodes recently that scared her enough to go to the neurologist for MRI and CT scan. We're waiting to hear from the doctor to discuss results.

We're starting to have long-term planning discussions, but they've been touch and go. My hope is to come to some decisions as a family to help support her independence as long as we can. She's been hesitant to discuss - it's incredibly scary and she'll often shut the conversation down. If her health declines, she does not want to be put in an assisted living facility. She doesn't want us spending thousands of dollars a month on her care. Her moving in with my sister or me isn't an option at the moment. I'm hoping to plan for in-home care, but she also doesn't trust a lot of people and is extremely wary of people coming into her home. I'm also not exactly sure at the moment how we'll pay for this. But I think that would be the ultimate goal so she can remain as independent as possible for as long as possible.

One of the tough things is she still seems so young. She's not very social - she doesn't trust the things that come out of her mouth sometimes, and she can be pretty volatile - so she isolates. The depression can also be debilitating. However, she does enjoy still getting out and about and has a desire to be engaged with people/the world in places she is familiar.