Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Planning a Family Forum

Hi, everyone. I am in charge of planning a support group for resident's families, but I have been working in memory care for only about 5 months now. Yes, I have learned a lot about dementia and Alzheimer's and have a range of topics I would like to talk about at this family forum, but I would love to hear what other caregivers/family members/ those affected by dementia/alz have to say. What are some topics that I should 100% cover at my quarterly support groups?? Thanks!

Comments

• jfkoc
    jfkoc Member Posts: 3,745
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

Quarterly support group?

I would gather up info about local resources and please include our message board and current protocol on diagnosis.

I would not include any facility names.

Other than that I would just let the discussion evolve around the groups needs.

• fmb
    fmb Member Posts: 350
    100 Insightfuls Reactions 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments

In my opinion quarterly isn't nearly often enough. Most of the dementia caregiver support groups in my area meet monthly. The progression of this disease, especially if other co-morbidities are present, is such that great changes in the PWD's status can sometimes occur in a matter of weeks. For families looking for advice and support three months can feel like an eternity. As for the focus, I agree with jfkoc above. Provide basic information and resources and let the group drive the discussion.

• Jeanne C.
    Jeanne C. Member Posts: 796
    500 Comments 250 Care Reactions 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

I've been to two different support groups in my area. One was through the local modern maturity center. It was lead by a nurse who had less dementia experience than I did and most of the time was taken by a local AL/MC facility so they could do their sales pitch. Needless to say I didn't return.