Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Mom wandered for the first time. Ready to give up on doing it myself (NYC)

I've been doing this for about 3 years now, It's exhausting, frustrating, but it was all I knew. She's EO (66 now) I love my mother but at the risk of sounding selfish I want to start the process ASAP of getting her proper care that doesn't involve me staying by her side 24/7. Because now I don't know when she'll just up and leave the house without any warning to see her sister.

I want to live my own life, but get her proper care...moving her into a facility that has round the clock care & can watch her, an MC where she'd be comfortable. The problem is, my sister (who doesn't live with us) is the one who handles and knows about all of my moms financial situations & insurance information, and isn't the most forthcoming, and I think she's got POA. At a glance, between retirement from working for the city, SS, savings etc. she's got probably 80K in assets & collects 2K monthly. I already know that's apparently too high for any Medicaid plan? What are the next steps you'd recommend?

Comments

• loveskitties
    loveskitties Member Posts: 1,071
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

I would say first steps are determining what legal documents you and your sister have for your mother, determine who is going to handle what...sounds like you have physical care and she has the rest...not ideal if you are not on the same page.

Once you know what you have you and your sister should see an elder care attorney to determine if you actually have what is necessary...as in durable power of attorney vs regular power of attorney and the like. The attorney should also be able to guide you both in what necessary steps are to qualify for Medicaid in your state.

In the mean time, you should investigate and invest in some type of lock or alarm to alert you is she tries to exit on her own.

• vernonfvj