Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New(ish) Diagnosis and EOAD

Hello, I am a 48 year old wife whose 58 year old husband has recently been diagnosed with dementia. We are awaiting PET scan and more testing (always more testing) for a "type" of dementia. We have 2 children (21 and 18) that are in college. I started noticing symptoms a year ago, and then in February of this year he had some health issues that seemed to exacerbate the memory loss. I have pretty much been in denial that it is Alzheimer's until I saw him through clinical eyes at the last neurology appointment.

My heart is broken - I am a speech language pathologist, and spent many years focusing on dementia management. Now I live it. I am exhausted, and have realized it is because I never get to be "off." I work in a school all day doing speech, then I go home and do "therapy" until we go to bed. He has been unable to work for a year now, and we are still waiting on the disability process.

If I were clinically rating him, I would put him in a level 3 with traits of level 4 beginning.

I have so many questions, but I am afraid to ask a lot of them, because I think I know what the answers will be, and I don't like them.

How are we supposed to do it all, and keep going with full-time jobs and families?

Why did this happen to us? I always try to find the good in things, but I can't find anything positive about this situation at all.

Thanks for reading. I just needed to vent.

Comments

• KathyF1
    KathyF1 Member Posts: 104
    25 Care Reactions Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions