Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

To correct or not....?

Marie C.
Marie C. Member Posts: 9
5 Care Reactions First Comment

I am new to the support community. My mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer's in 2022. She is now in an Assisted Living near me. She is always wanting to have these deep conversations with me about her living situation but never really comprehends what I tell her. She keeps referring to the Assisted living as "school" and does not understand why she is living there. . My instinct is to correct her and tell her it was not a school but I wonder if it really matters what I tell her. I know I am getting more and more frustrated and I wonder when it is best to correct her and when is it best to just play along. I often don't know whether to try to set her straight or to just lie to her. She constantly asks about my dad who died 2 years ago. She wants to know where he is. I tell her he has passed but is this the right way to handle this question. She asks where he is multiple times a day. Sometime she is relieved when I teller he dies because she often thinks he just left her after 54 years of marriage. What should I do when? Thanks for any guidance.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,700
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions