Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

I didn't plan for this:

FredW
FredW Member Posts: 12
10 Comments 5 Care Reactions 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Likes

I am a fairly good planner. I was a project manager, so I know planning for things that can go wrong is wise. I have not planned for the case where I die before my DW.

We have wills, POAs, and family members assigned to take over health care and financial matters. However, I have not planned for someone to take over the primary caregiver role. As caregivers know, taking on the primary role is a BIG deal. It is life-changing.

When I (we) decided to stay in our home in rural Western PA, I knew the burden was on me to make it work. But, what if I die before my DW? That means her closest family member, her daughter, has to give up her job and either move into our house or find a place for her mom to live out her remaining years, or move Mom into her home, 3 1/2 hours away. That's asking a lot. Most remote family members have no idea what it means to be a primary caregiver.

What got me thinking about this is that I need to have my artificial aortic heart valve replaced again. The first one was supposed to last 15 - 20 years and I recently found out it is failing earlier than it should. If I do nothing, the odds are I'm not going to last two more years. My DF is in stage 4/5 and she may outlive me. If I die on the table, there is no plan.

What do you think? Should I contact her daughter and have a 'come to Jesus' discussion about caregiving?

How many of you have thought this out? Do you engage the backup primary caregiver to help make a plan now or do you just let them handle it if I bite the dust before my loved one?

Comments

• midge333
    midge333 Member Posts: 288
    100 Likes 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Care Reactions