Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Newbie here.....how to cope with my dad

My dad, unoffically, has alzheimers. He does not want to be tested.

I am 52. He is 88. My mom passed 6 years so just him and I. He lives with me.

I have my own business and work lots of hours. He has a part time care giver just so she can take him to doctor appts and get him out of the house for a meal.

My entire life growing up, we have ALWAYS been VERY competitive. It's hard for me now as I know, he can't do what he once was able to do, but he acts the same. And, when he's wrong, he can't/won't admit it. Even when healthy, he would never admit it. He accuses me of things that I would never do, nor have NEVER done. I can explain it to him 100x and he still doesn't get it. It bothers me greatly that he thinks these horrible things of me. He accuses me of stealing his money, the house (which he signed overe to me before my mom passed WHILE in prescence of lawyer), says I buy him cheap clothing (Carhartt, Duluth, etc) cause he can't snap the buttons, so MUST be cheaply made. Says I change the channel on him and I tell him I've been upstairs all night, he can't hear TV (which is on 100 volume) and somehow that's my fault. The list goes on and on.

I guess I just get hurt cause he thinks so poorly of me. I'm at my wits end. We argue and there is no talking any sense into him. I can show him video evidence of whatever it may be and he STILL doesn't believe me.

PLEASAE help with suggestions.

Comments

• clickclicksend
    clickclicksend Member Posts: 2
    First Comment

@M1 ........ he does have a primary care physician. He's been his doctor for overe 40 years. When my mom was alive, she wanted to get him tested and he refused. The doctor said he can't do anything or give him medication without his approval and knowledge of what/why he is getting said meds/testing. so nothing was done.