Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

lost

Patyh75
Patyh75 Member Posts: 9
First Comment
Hi I am new to ALZCONNECTED im not sure where to start. my mom has been diagnose with AlZ. she currently lives with my dad, but my dad is having a really difficult time accepting her diagnosis. he is not willing to educate himself about the disease and has no patience for my mom. he keeps saying he can't go through with taking care of my mom. he has mentioned that it is my siblings and my responsibility to care for her. I have been doing my research and reading almost every day about the disease but it's getting so overwhelming, and I feel so lost. my siblings and I all have family and can't take the responsibility of taking care of my mom full time. My mom is in the middle stages. I want to help my father with giving information on how he can help my mom but he just says he does not want to think about it.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,700
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Hi Paty and welcome. Your dad is sending a clear signal that he can't handle this. Is he perhaps having cognitive charges of his own? that may be something to consider.

If finances allow, it may be a kindness to your mom to make other living arrangements for her so that she is not subjected to abusive behavior by your dad. It sounds like you and your sibs need to meet with a certified elder law attorney so that one of you has durable power of attorney for your mother's care (as well as your dad's, eventually) and finances, and you may want to start investigating assisted living or memory care facilities. Unfortunately, you cannot force him to be a dementia caregiver if he doesn't have the capacity to do it.

• Anonymousjpl123
    Anonymousjpl123 Member Posts: 680
    500 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions Second Anniversary