Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

First-Time Poster Requesting Support

Hello to you all. This is my first time to post in the forum. I have been reading a few posts that may help me with my father. At his most-recent visit with his neurologist, we were told he was at stage 6B of Alzheimer's. We have been living with what we were told was dementia for several years, and the Alzheimer's diagnosis was not a surprise.

I am an only child and the primary caregiver for my mother and father, 75 and 77, respectively. I moved them to a continuing care facility close to me last year, and they lived in independent living for 14 months. My mother has not been able to cope well with the diagnosis, and she constantly tries to correct him and ask him why he doesn't remember. A week ago, we moved him into the memory care wing of the same facility. She will remain in independent living.

Here are some issues I'm dealing with and could use some advice on if you have any. He is on a laundry list of medications, including Doneprizil, Memantine, Sertaline, and Trazadone.

• Lack of Energy/Desire: My father has had chronic back pain for 10 years following a bad fall. He can walk with a walker but constantly asks everyone around him to bring him things. This has led to decreased steadiness when he's on his feet, loss of muscle tone, etc.